kv5Fast Facts

Nicknames: G, Chase, Gillybean
Sport: Triathlon
Entry year: 2008
Favourite leg: cycle
Coach: Stephen Moss
Race distance: Olympic (draft legal)
Professional since: September 2011
Education: BSc Marine Science & Ecology (graduated UQ 2012); Master of Environmental Science (current)
Hometown: Armidale, NSW
Current residence: Brisbane, QLD
European Base: Aix les Bains, France
Favourite food: Olives!

I grew up in the country town of Armidale in Northern NSW and took up triathlon in my final year of high school, transitioning across from swimming and cross-country running. After completing my Bachelor of Science I was given the opportunity to become a full time professional triathlete and start competing globally, which I grabbed with both hands. I have now been racing for Australia on the International Triathlon Union (ITU) circuit for 8 years, with my strength being the swim-bike.

My major goals for the 2020 season are to qualify for the Tokyo Olympic Games where I hope to win a medal in the Mixed Team Relay event, and to finish on the podium at the World Triathlon Series Grand Final in Edmonton. Following the end of the ITU season I will race the Super League Championship series where I also hope to be on the podium.

My ultimate goals are to win a gold medal at the Olympic Games and win the ITU World Triathlon Series before transitioning to long course triathlon where I hope to one day win the 70.3 World Championship. Beyond competing in the sport I hope to inspire others to get out and be active, whether that be in triathlon or any other sort of activity, and also live up to their potential in life whatever avenue they choose. When I eventually retire from the sport I want to return to the country and coach kids voluntarily after work, inspired by my first cycling coach who did exactly that for me. I want others to know that wherever you come from and whatever opportunities you have, if you have a dream and you really believe in it, then it is possible to achieve. I am also passionate about the environment and sustainability, with a degree in Marine Biology and Ecology and am currently studying my Masters in Environmental Science and Management.